Going strong

Week 5 down and going strong!  I officially have made it 5 weeks of teaching third grade.  I’ve made it through stranglings (yes…that says stranglings), laughs, tears, 15 hours days, volleyball tournaments, sore throats, sleepless nights and many many prayers.  So thankful for the Lord’s provision.

Through this all, I’ve come to believe that I think Jesus has given me Jess for such a special purpose.  We were talking the other night and discussing what a confusing season of life this is.  It’s hard to feel like we belong anywhere.  It’s hard to feel used here.  It’s hard to know what step is next.  But all those questions and honest soul searching led us to have a night of prayer for one another.  There’s something so sweet about pouring your heart out to Jesus through watered eyes and a shaky voice. One verse stuck out to us, and that is Phillipians 4:12:  “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.” If the Lord has not given it to me, (whether that be a husband, money or a huge group of friends), then I don’t need it right now.  Lord, give me the grace to have a spirit of contentment!

I was reading in a book this week that “we usually focus on what we’re doing or where we’re going, but God’s primary concern is who we’re becoming in the process.  We talk about ‘doing’ the will of God, but the will of God has much to do with ‘being’ than ‘doing.’ (The Circle Maker).” This season of life has proven to be so wonderful.  Do you know why?  Not necessarily because I love my job or my bank account (ha!), but because it’s brought me to my knees. Jesus knew that was what I needed.

Image

Leave a comment