Far More

It’s been almost four weeks now since I’ve moved to Florida.  What an adventure it’s been!  I feel like I haven’t truly had time to process all the changes that have occurred, but I’m thankful for a morning like this where I can sit outside, hear the birds chirp, and listen for God’s still voice in the midst of all of life’s chaos.

Where to even begin?  First of all, I do LOVE teaching.  Third grade has been wonderful, and I pray that I can only get better as their teacher as time goes on.  I have so much to learn, but I’m grateful for God’s grace that keeps me going each day.  Last Wednesday, during the weekly chapel time, the kids were signing “Here is our King” with all the adorable motions included.  I looked around, and couldn’t help but get teary eyed.  Hundreds of kids, arms lifted high, signing “Majesty!”  Does it get more powerful than that? 

I’ve also realized that I also love the Bible memorization  the kids have to do.  Sometimes I think the Lord uses it more for my heart. This week it was Ephesians 3:20-21:

“Now to him that is able to exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or imagine, according to the power that worketh in us.  Unto Him be the glory in the church throughout all ages, world without end. Amen.”

I need more?  Jesus can give it.  How? Through the power that is IN me.  I love Charles Spurgeon commentary on this verse.  He wrote:

Now, I see, also, that if my case is very special, still I need not tremble or stand in dread of need. What if I require superabundant Grace? I may have it! If I need exceedingly abundant help, I can have it. Ah, if I need more Grace than I dare ask for, I can have it! Yes, and if I require more than I think, I may have it, for still my Lord is able to give it to me, and what He is able to do, He is willing to do. What comfort this should afford even to poor sinners who are far away from God. He is able to give you great forgiveness for the greatest possible sin! Sins that you have not yet thought of, He can pardon! Do but come to God in Christ Jesus and you shall find Him able to save to the uttermost. If this little hint is taken up by some despairing heart, it may give it immediate peace! It cannot be true that God cannot forgive, for in Christ Jesus, ‘He is able to do exceedingly abundantly above what we ask or even think.’ (Spurgeon, Charles. Paul’s Doxology.)

I am always so encouraged, standing in front of 18 kids every morning saying this verse, that where ever I am, whether Florida or Pennsylvania, God hears my prayers.  In fact, he is able to exceedingly abundantly above my prayers.  Oh Lord, help me to claim the promises you’ve shown me.  Let me cling to the power at work within me.

Image

And finally, I want to touch on one more lesson I’ve learned these last four weeks. A lesson that I truly felt like the Lord himself showed me.

I was driving home the other day, and just got really overwhelmed.  I questioned myself and my abilities.  I questioned why I’m here.  I questioned if these kids are even learning, and if they would be better off with another teacher.  I questioned why no one has told me that I did a good job.  Because if I was, then wouldn’t everyone notice? 

But then, I truly feel like God spoke to me.  Galatians 1:10 “For I am now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.”  I need to daily remind myself that I am not here for me, I am not here for others, I am here for Christ.  If I please him, then I am blessed.  Let me borrow the cliche saying, “I am working for an audience of one.”

Lord, let your opinion of me be the only thing that matters for you truly are “Majesty.”

 

 

Leave a comment